Showing posts with label architecture. Show all posts
Showing posts with label architecture. Show all posts

Saturday, 2 September 2023

Flint

One of the most obvious architectural features of Langham and surrounding settlements is the use of flint cobbles for dressing walls. Elsewhere, knapped flint is typically used instead, though knapped flint walls are also found in Norfolk, some of great age, as at the Roman shore-fort at Burgh Castle.


A well preserved section of the south wall at Burgh Castle, showing Roman brick as well as flint
Image credit: Pahazzard; licence

Local materials such as Cotswold stone or Welsh slate help man-made structures to blend in with the landscape. The shore hereabouts is made of sand, shingle, pebbles and cobbles; between Cley and Kelling the shingle ridge is the chief defence against the sea.

Flint is a variety of quartz, specifically that sort of quartz called chert, which is made principally of silica, silicon dioxide. It develops as nodules inside strata of chalk. In geology, a ‘nodule’ is a small, somewhat rounded lump of a mineral, or an aggregate of minerals, contrasting with the host stratum. Flint consists mostly of silica, probably deriving from the spicules of sponges. Chalk is a form of limestone derived from the shells of foraminifera and the calcareous remains of coccolithophores: both of these are single-celled animals existing, like the sponges, in huge numbers in the sea.

One theory has it that irregular holes and chambers burrowed in the chalk by crustaceans and molluscs fill with a gelatinous material that then becomes silicified with sponge spicules. As further layers of chalk are laid down, these are subjected to tremendous pressure, causing chemical as well as physical change in a process called diagenesis: the transformation from sediment to rock.

Geological upheaval can bring a chalk stratum to the surface, allowing erosion by water – whether by rainfall or the sea – and subsequent exposure of the flints.

The Stone Age is so called mainly because of the use of flint to make tools, weapons and other implements. It lasted for some 3.4 million years until about 4000-2000 BC, when metalworking was invented.

Two properties of flint make it specially suitable for the production of edged tools, such as blades: it consists mostly of siliceous materials which, like glass, can be made extremely sharp, and it is comparatively dense. The structure is microcrystalline, meaning that it comprises crystals so small that they may be seen only with a microscope. In the hands of a skilled knapper, blades can be produced that are easily capable of felling trees or skinning an animal, and of course nearly every municipal museum has its collection of flint arrowheads, spear-heads, axes, scrapers, etc. Many of these artefacts are the product of an advanced craftsmanship which peaked in the late Neolithic, about 5,000 years ago.


Image credit: Zde; licence

Flint varies in quality and suitability for knapping. The best flints were not always found on the surface: sometimes mines were dug in the chalk, a notable example being found at Spiennes in Belgium. In Britain perhaps the best known flint mine is at Grime’s Graves in Breckland. At St Roche’s Hill, near Chichester, collapsed galleries have been found that contained human skeletons. This has led to speculation that the dead miners were slaves, their bodies not considered worth the labour of recovering, especially if the flint seams there had been all but worked out.

The flint cobbles used to face our walls come in every shade of grey and brown, the colours being determined by the composition of the gelatinous material of which the original nodules were formed, with softer and differently coloured portions being worn down sooner. Wave action also repeatedly throws each cobble against its fellows, marking the surface or chipping bits off.

The cobbles are generally rounded but no two are alike, deriving their shape from the cavities excavated aeons ago by long-dead creatures. No doubt most of those we see in walls were at one time much larger and have been knocked about, ground down and polished by the sea, the detritus surviving as shingle and sand. It is hard to conceive of the immense period during which a single cobble becomes smooth, just as it is hard to conceive of the natural forces involved. The cobbles in our walls have in large part been crafted by the Moon, whose gravitational pull drives the world’s tides.

They have been further crafted by the men whose judgement decides which cobbles to place where, and if you look closely at a well made flint wall you can see both taste and discretion at work. And if you look more closely still, at any single cobble, whether in a wall or on the beach, you will find that it is unique and, in its colouring and lines, as subtle and beautiful as anything else to be found in the natural world.

Saturday, 27 May 2023

The Langham Blue Bell

The Bell at ‘14 East Street’ was opened for business some time in the early 1600s and has been operating more or less continuously ever since. At some time prior to 1915 or so the name was changed to The Blue Bell, as can just be seen from this image:

Click on any photo to enlarge

A 2008 photo of the pub sign shows it actually depicting a bluebell:

Image credit: Ian Capper; licence

An incomplete list of former publicans with their dates of tenancy:

John Massingham (died 1639)
1781–1785 Mark Massingham
1789 John Carrington
? Early 19th century: William Nelson
1790??–1847 James Massingham, listed in the 1822 Census as ‘publican and baker’, aged 52 in 1841, became an agricultural labourer by 1851. (An Edmund Massingham was the pinder appointed in 1827)
1851 Thomas Bird (aged 38 in 1851, when he also worked as a gardener); the electoral roll of 1885 lists Thomas Charlton of Fakenham as the owner at this period
6.2.1886 Edmund William Loades (spelled ‘Loads’ in Kelly’s Directory)
3.11.1919 Mary Loades
8.2.1946 George Henry Rogers
31.3.1950 Fredrica (spelling?) S Rogers, granddaughter of Edmund Loades, retired aged 78 in 1972
1956 Maggie Loades and Enid Gravelling; Enid Gravelling died in 1956
1972 Maggie Loades
1972–1996 Victor and Myrtle Newman, assisted by their daughter, Bridget; but Victor died in 1994 aged 75; inquest held 10 March, 1994. Myrtle retired in 1995
1996–16.8.2013 Pat and Bridget Newman; Patrick Newman, the eldest son of the Newmans, died in 2010; Bridget Newman announced her retirement in August 2013
2013–2023 Jason Mitchell, landlord; Abby Laura Wilson and Dominic Wilson. (In 2022 Tom Packard was listed as general manager.)

At one time a Union flag was displayed behind the bar. It was originally flown by the wildlife film-maker and photographer Cindy Buxton, once a resident of Langham, and her assistant, Annie Price, on the island of South Georgia during the Argentine invasion in 1982.

The building is Grade II listed; in 1997 the adjoining cottage was incorporated into the pub to provide a dining area.

The beer-garden is large and sunny and has a children’s play-house:


The Cutmore-Scott family, the owners of The Harper hotel in North Street, decided to take over the lease and right up to the opening day, 26 May, were very busy, redecorating and refurbishing in a style best described, perhaps, as shabby-chic, informal and up to the minute, in keeping with a seating arrangement designed to encourage conversation and socialising. The restaurant has been retained and, like the bar, benefits from the synergy between pub and hotel, helping to train the mostly young staff for successful careers in the hospitality trade.


The institution of the public house has for centuries traditionally been at the secular centre of British communal life. A pub is somewhere to go and drink, of course, but it is also much more, a place where people randomly come together and put the world to rights. It is a place of communication outside the official sphere, a place to make new friends and meet old ones.


Recent years have had a devastating effect on the pub trade. The smoking ban of 2007, the beer duty escalator, general impoverishment of the pub-going classes since the 2008 financial crash, the lockdown policies of 2020, and now the cost of living crisis – not the least of which is due to ever-increasing business rates necessarily being passed on to consumers – have all conspired to accelerate the decline of Britain’s pubs. According to this article, more than 150 pubs closed permanently in England and Wales during the first three months of 2023; during the whole of 2022 only 386 were lost.

Jason Mitchell and Abby and Dominic Wilson did their valiant best but were unable to withstand these forces. The decision by the Cutmore-Scotts to invest in and re-open the Blue Bell – never mind about the Anchor at Morston, which they have also re-opened – can only be seen as brave, if not defiant. It deserves our support.


Thursday, 18 May 2023

The Old Pound

On the south side of Binham Road you may have noticed this structure:


Its purpose is explained by an old article in the Sussex County Magazine.
Nearly every village once had its pound for stray cattle, pigs, geese, etc. to be driven into and there kept at the expense of the owner, till such time as he should pay the fine (the amount claimed by the person on whose land they had strayed, for damage done), and the fee to the pound keeper, man or sometimes woman, for feeding and watering the same.

If not claimed in three weeks, the animals were driven to the nearest market and sold, the proceeds going to the impounder and pound-keeper. An ingenious form of receipt was sometimes used. The person who found the animals on his land cut a stick and made notches, one for every beast, and then split the stick down the centre of the notches so that half of each notch appeared on each stick; one half he kept, the other he gave to the pound-keeper. When the owner came to redeem his property and had paid for the damage done, the impounder gave him his half stick. He took this to the pound-keeper, and if the two pieces tallied, it proved he had paid and his beast was freed. Hence the word tally-stick and the pound-keeper being referred to as the tallyman.
As a matter of fact, tally-sticks were of much more widespread use than that, and go back to earliest times.

A better preserved example of a village pound is in North Elmham:

Image credit: John Wernham; licence

Added 21.5.23
At a Vestry meeting held this 20th day of February 1827 after due notice thereof given, Edmund Massingham was sworn in to the office of Pindar* for the Parish till he shall be therefrom legally discharged and he is hereby authorised and required by us whose names are hereunto affixed to impound every species of animal and cattle which he shall find loose and trespassing in any of the Highways, Private Roads, inclosed grounds or waste lands in the Parish of Langham and he shall charge for impounding the same as follows viz. For every Horse Mare Bull Cow Mule Mute Pony Ass and Swine the sum of sixpence, and for every Score of Sheep the sum of sixpence and no more.

Signed – Thomas Rippingall
Wm. Starling
J. F. Hillen
Beeston Wright

*Pinder (not pindar) is an old name for a poundkeeper; one who impounds.